Tripartite Agreement 9 April 1974

The Tripartite Agreement signed on 9 April 1974 is a significant legal document in the history of Cyprus. It was signed by the governments of Greece, Turkey, and the United Kingdom, with the aim of resolving the Cyprus dispute and restoring peace on the island.

The Cyprus dispute began in 1963 when intercommunal violence broke out between the Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots. In 1974, a military coup in Cyprus led to the intervention of Turkey, which invaded Cyprus and occupied the northern part of the island. This led to a ceasefire between Greece, Turkey, and the UK, which paved the way for the signing of the Tripartite Agreement.

The agreement was signed in Geneva, Switzerland, and had three main objectives. The first objective was to establish a ceasefire between the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities. The second objective was to create a buffer zone between the two communities, which would be patrolled by the UN peacekeeping force. The third objective was to establish a political solution to the Cyprus dispute, which would preserve the rights and interests of both communities.

The Tripartite Agreement was a significant step towards resolving the Cyprus dispute, but its implementation was not without challenges. One of the main challenges was the refusal of the Turkish Cypriot community to accept the political solution proposed by the Greek Cypriot community. This led to the division of the island into two parts, with the northern part being recognized as the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus, and the southern part remaining under the control of the Republic of Cyprus.

Despite its limitations, the Tripartite Agreement remains an important legal document in the history of Cyprus, as it established a framework for resolving the Cyprus dispute and restoring peace on the island. Its legacy continues to be felt today, as efforts to reunify Cyprus continue, with the hope that the island can one day become a united and prosperous nation.